CoverGirl

Sidebeat Music News – Grammy Nominations / The Recording Academy

Sidebeat Music News – Grammy Nominations / The Recording Academy

 
 



 

NEWS RELEASE / December 5th, 2014


Earlier today, The Recording Academy® kicked off the 57th Annual GRAMMY Awards® nominations on “CBS This Morning,” with Pharrell Williams and Ed Sheeran announcing nominees for Record Of The Year, Best Country Album, Best Pop Vocal Album, and Best Urban Contemporary Album. Following was a series of additional nominations announced via Twitter video made by artists and celebrities, including:

Alanis Morissette https://twitter.com/alanis

Angie Martinez https://twitter.com/angiemartinez

Billy Bush, Access Hollywood https://twitter.com/billybush

“CBS This Morning” https://twitter.com/cbsthismorning

Giuliana Rancic, E! https://twitter.com/giulianarancic

Jake Owen https://twitter.com/jakeowen

Jared Leto https://twitter.com/jaredleto

Joy Williams https://twitter.com/joywilliams

Kylie Minogue https://twitter.com/kylieminogue

LL Cool J https://twitter.com/llcoolj

Mario Lopez, EXTRA https://twitter.com/mariolopezextra

Mark Ronson https://twitter.com/markronson

MC Lyte https://twitter.com/mclyte

Michael Yo, INSIDER https://twitter.com/michaelyo

Nancy O’Dell, Entertainment Tonight https://twitter.com/nancyodell

Ryan Seacrest https://twitter.com/ryanseacrest

Troye Sivan, YOUTUBE https://twitter.com/troyesivan

Toni Braxton https://twitter/com/tonibraxton

Vampire Weekend https://twitter.com/vampireweekend

Weezer https://twitter.com/weezer

Zedd https://twitter.com/zedd

For the latest list of nominations in 82 out of 83 categories, go to Grammy.com and follow @theGRAMMYs to see the artist announcements and join the #GRAMMYs conversation throughout the day. Be sure to tune in to CBS tonight at 9 p.m. ET/PT to find out who’s nominated for Album Of The Year at the end of the one-hour holiday special, “A Very GRAMMY® Christmas.”

To help with your coverage, below is a sampling of facts about this year’s nominations:

Beyoncé solidified her edge as the most-nominated female artist in history, with a total of 52 nominations, including five nominations earned so far today (Best R&B Performance, Best R&B Song, Best Urban Contemporary Album, Best Surround Sound Album, and Best Music Film). She surpassed Dolly Parton by just one nomination last year at the 56th GRAMMY Awards.

Nominated for Best American Roots Performance for “And When I Die,” Alison Krauss holds the distinction as the female artist with the most GRAMMY wins, with 27 to date.

Beyoncé and Sam Smith are currently tied for most 57th GRAMMY nominations with five nods each, and both are eligible for Album Of The Year. Smith is nominated in Record Of The Year, Song Of The Year, Best New Artist, Best Pop Solo Performance, and Best Pop Vocal Album.

Nominated for Best Rock Album for Songs Of Innocence, U2 are the most GRAMMY-nominated group in history, with a total of 46 nominations as of this year.

Nominated for Best Spoken Word Album for Diary Of A Diva, the late Joan Rivers received her second-ever GRAMMY nomination this year. She was previously nominated for Best Comedy Recording in 1983.

Miley Cyrus scored her first-ever GRAMMY nomination this year with Bangerz, which is up for Best Pop Vocal Album.

Earning a nomination in Best Dance Recording for her collaboration with Disclosure on “F For You,” Mary J. Blige stands to win her 10th GRAMMY Award this year. Blige won her first GRAMMY for Best Rap Performance for her collaboration with Method Man on “I’ll Be There For You/You’re All I Need To Get By.”

Gloria Gaynor’s audiobook, We Will Survive: True Stories Of Encouragement, Inspiration, And The Power Of Song, scored a nomination for Best Spoken Word Album. The last time she was nominated was more than 35 years ago at the 22nd Annual GRAMMY Awards, when “I Will Survive” won Best Disco Recording in 1979, the only year the category existed. The song was inducted into the GRAMMY Hall Of Fame® in 2012.

As a couple, Tim McGraw and Faith Hill have been nominated five times for Best Country Duo/Group Performance (they’ve won twice). This year’s nomination for “Meanwhile Back At Mama’s” brings their total to six nods in this category alone. (Note: The category was formerly named Best Country Collaboration With Vocals).

Miranda Lambert and Eric Church are both nominated in all four Country categories.

Artist Lecrae transcended musical genres to earn nominations in three different categories: Best Rap Performance, Best Gospel Performance/Song, and Best Contemporary Christian Music Performance/Song.

News From
The Recording Academy
RANews@grammy.com

To learn more about the The Recording Academy, please visit: Grammy.com

The Recording Academy

GRAMMY Foundation

Musicares

Latin GRAMMY

GRAMMY Museum

The Recording Academy
3030 Olympic Blvd.
Santa Monica, CA 90404

Copyright (C) 2014 The Recording Academy. All rights reserved.

 


PJP_graphic_Hollywood_CA

 


 

Sidebeat_Music_Logo_2015

 


Sidebeat Music is a show on Actors Entertainment, a channel on the Actors Podcast Network, a Pepper Jay Production.

 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Site Search

Follow Us!

                
 

Photographer John Michael Ferrari - Images by Ferrari